Ren Knits ^^

ummm… January 31, 2007

Filed under: crafting,news,school — Ren @ 10:20 pm

today is my grandparents’ 54th wedding anniversary. today is also the day grandma was diagnosed with ovarian cancer. this news was not really a shock, since she’s been quite sick for over a month now (she’s the one i made the bee pouch and magnets for) and the doctors have been hinting at it for most of that time, but it’s still very sad news. she’ll find out tomorrow when she has to have surgery and then it’s surgery and recovery and chemo and everything associated with that. she’s really worried that she won’t be able to take care of grandpa; he’s housebound and can’t walk very well and has horrible arthritis. anyway, if praying is something that you do, i would ask that you please do so on her behalf. she’s never even had surgery in her whole life.

i feel like the only thing i can do to show her that i’m thinking of her (besides sending letters) is to make her things. i really want to knit her a pair of nice, happy socks she can wear when she’s in the hospital and at home afterwards. i’m thinking of the one skein cable footies (i found a pic of someone else’s gorgeous pair here), since they should be fairly thick and warm and quick to knit (and i have the book, haha). we’ll see, though. yarn could be a bit of a problem to acquire.

but! i have happy news today, too, i promise. my accounting competition was featured in the gainesville sun online here. obviously it’s horribly overstated in the general style of newspaper articles, but it’s a bit exciting nonetheless.

look what i got in the mail today as an anniversary present! it’s a happy cloud from mypapercrane. there’s a funny story of deception involved, but it would require too much explaining, lol! suffice it to say that randy (my boyfriend), paola (my best friend), and i are one very strange triangle.

i also made up some more magnets this afternoon. i can’t decide which is my favorite; it’s a tie between the one on the far left and the “yum” one. the one on the far left is an image from the teleidoscope in the knitpicks catalog. what a very bizarre idea (but a nice magnet!).
 

9 Responses to “ummm…”

  1. Kelly Says:

    cute cloud! Glad he didn’t get you the tampon one lol
    I’ll be praying for your grandma!

  2. Missy Says:

    I’ll be sending a few prayers up for your grandma! I hope every thing goes ok. I think that she will love those socks. They are really pretty cables. I also really like the magnets.

    ;’)Mis

  3. jase0517 Says:

    Congratulations to your grandparents on the anniversary; I will be sure to pray for your grandma and your family.

  4. hakucho Says:

    Your grandma is definitely in my prayers. I hope and pray everything goes well for her. Those socks are beautiful…she will love them :)

  5. jill Says:

    Lots of prayers will be said for your entire family…I promise! Keep us posted and be sure to let us know if we can do anything to help.

  6. Splindarella Says:

    Ren, I’m so sorry to hear about your grandmother! I will keep her, you and your family in my thoughts.

    And what’s this about yarn for footies maybe being hard to get? Please, hon, I’ve got a houseful. Email me (if you need my addy again let me know) and we’ll get you all set up.

  7. Nora Says:

    Thinking of you and your family. x

  8. Kelly Says:

    Hi Ren,
    I’m just checking to make sure your ok. I wasn’t sure what part of florida you were in and didn’t have an email address to contact you that way.
    Hoping you and your family and safe!

  9. […] for her cancer on monday morning. if you haven’t been reading around here for very long, this post and this post have a few more details about her situation. please keep her in your thoughts and […]


Leave a Reply

