Ren Knits ^^

first pair of socks! February 14, 2007

Filed under: knitting,news,school — Ren @ 10:28 pm

since the last time i posted about my grandma’s situation, some things have changed. i’ll know more soon, since they’re still running tests, but now they think she may have breast cancer, not ovarian cancer. the doctors that she’s had, i don’t know… liver cirrhosis, then ovarian cancer, now maybe breast cancer. maybe it’s hard to diagnose, but she’s been strung along for long enough… anyway!


cable footies
pattern: one skein by leigh radford
yarn: moda dea washable wool color plum (one skein ^^)
needles: size 9 DPNs
size: medium
comments: i’m really pleased with how these turned out. the yarn is so much softer than i thought it would be and the pattern was really easy to work with… very specific, which was great for my first pair of socks. i still think the heels turned out a bit wacky (even after i watched the video on knitting help… not sure what my problem is), but oh well! grandma won’t notice, anyway. these are pretty loose on me (though not “big,” really), which reinforces my belief that there is a reason why i knit tight… because i am small and things only seem to fit when i knit them at smaller gauges (ahaha, cause i rarely swatch, though i did for this project). i’m waiting to mail them, since i want the timing to be right, but i’m getting antsy, because i really think she’ll like them!

blanket of hope square #1
pattern: hob nail dishcloth by hakucho
yarn: patons classic wool color new denim
needles: size 7 straights, one size 7 DPN
size: approx. 6in x 6in
modifications: i cast on 31 stitches and modified the pattern to fit that.
comments: i really wanted to try out the pattern, since i’d never seen anything quite like it before. it was really easy and sort of fun, twisting the yarn around the stitches. i found it a bit easier to knit the three stitches that get wrapped directly onto my DPN, saving a bit of needle shifting.

ok. back to the never-ending load of homework! thanks for all the birthday wishes! OH and happy valentine’s day! hope you’re spending it with someone special. ^^

 

4 Responses to “first pair of socks!”

  1. hakucho Says:

    Your Grandma is still in my prayers…it’s bad enough hearing that you have cancer…but them not knowing what kind must be a nightmare!!
    Your cable footies are beautiful! I love your “hob nail” square for your blanket of hope! A sampler of different stitch patterns will make a beautiful blanket. Is that your plan? Can I put your picture in my gallery?

    happy knitting:)

  2. Missy Says:

    I hope they figure out what is wrong with your Grandma soon. No one should have to suffer. I love your first pair of socks. They turned out great, and the color is beautiful! I also really love your blanket square!

    ;) Missy

  3. Rebekah Says:

    I’m so sorry to hear about your grandmother, it’s so annoying waiting for information.

    thank you for taking out time to knit a square for the blanket of hope project. I really appreciate the help, especially from ones that know exactly how difficult cancer and illness can be. It means a lot to sonya and Kevin.

  4. g-girl Says:

    I followed the link from hakucho’s friends gallery to comment on your hob nail cloth. It looks really nice in the navy/dark blue! your cable footies look great too. They are on my ever-growing list of things I want to make one day. :) I’m sorry to hear about your grandma-I can’t believe they don’t know what she has. :(


Leave a Reply

