Ren Knits ^^

crafty! February 19, 2007

Filed under: crafting,knitting,news,school — Ren @ 12:41 am

so, we found out that grandma does not have breast cancer, just the ovarian cancer, as far as we know. she is having surgery on thursday, so we’ll know more after that. i was going to mail her package (the footies) on monday, but i was paranoid and got them out on friday. i’m so glad i did! i didn’t realize that monday is a post office holiday (president’s day) and the package surely wouldn’t have gotten there on time had i waited. sometimes i’m really glad i’m paranoid!

i’m working on the fun fur chemo caps, since the deadline for those is coming up quickly. but, i’ve been seeing cute crafty things to do and i just couldn’t resist! sometimes i just want to sew!

this is a little pincase that i found a pattern for over on craft leftovers. i didn’t have any of the materials that the pattern called for, but i really liked how hers looked, so i just improvised. i knit the green cabled rectangle with knitpicks palette in green and size 6 needles and then used an old piece of jeans for the sturdy cloth on the inside and finished it off with a snap. i had been using a pincushion for my pins, but the needles always sunk down into the cushion so far i couldn’t find them. this is much better for the space i have! and darn cute, too! ^^

this is a “yo-yo heart” from this pattern. it’s so small and sweet and pretty easy to make. this one (if you can tell) is hanging on my desk lamp. i was going to make a bunch of these for a valentine’s garland, but i couldn’t find cloth i was crazy over, and i didn’t really have enough time anyway. but, this one is cute! ^^
school is still insanely busy… i can’t wait until spring break!
 

8 Responses to “crafty!”

  1. Nora Says:

    Love your crafty items – the little pincase is adorable.

    Hope all goes well on Thursday. You’re in my thoughts. x

  2. Kelly Says:

    awww how cute is that pin cushion I thought it was a wallet when I first saw it.
    That would be cute too,a wallet with a zip around the edge. Ohhh I wish i could sew.

  3. hakucho Says:

    Love your pins ‘n needles “wallet”!
    I think you already know this… your Grandma is and will stay in my prayers. Hope all goes well with her surgery.

    happy knitting and crafting! (Good to keep busy)

  4. Kristin Says:

    Oh my goodness! Thank you so much for sharing a picture of your project! It turned out really great. I just love the mods you did too. Wonderful ideas you have, keep it up!

  5. Missy Says:

    I love that pincase. So pretty! Keeping your Grandma in my prayers!!! I’m sure that she will love her socks!

    ;) Missy

  6. Procrastiknitter Says:

    So glad that some good news came to your grandmother. You and she are in my prayers daily!

    Love all the little items. I have found that little items make me seem much more productive! (HUGS)

  7. Splindarella Says:

    The case looks great! Glad to hear your grandma is doing well and enjoying her footies…. :)

  8. Penny Sanford Fikes Says:

    Hi Ren!
    I love the little Heart YoYo you made from my free pattern. Thanks also for sharing a link to the pattern!

    May I share your photo on my blog when I do another Heart YoYo Report in a few days?

    It makes me very happy to see how others are using my little pattern! Maybe by next year you will have found some fabric that “sings” to you for more heart yoyo’s.

    Your other ideas and creations are delightful! I am enjoying reading your blog!

    Fondly,
    Penny
    http://www.pennysanford.typepad.com


Leave a Reply

