Ren Knits ^^

a possible dilemma June 30, 2007

Filed under: dilemma — Ren @ 12:00 am
ok, i have a bit of a dilemma. it’s really only a possible dilemma, but i’m not sure exactly what my next step should be. i know that many of you have knit big things like sweaters before and i thought (read: i really really hope) maybe someone can help me figure out what to do, since i have absolutely no experience in this area. i want to knit this:

it is the “fitted cardigan” from creative knitting (the australian version) issue 16 that i got as a prize from sharon for the soaring eagles project. we measured everything out and it should fit me. i want to knit it with this:

this is the five skeins of rowan felted tweed that i got as a prize from the red scarf project. it isn’t the yarn called for in the pattern, but it is a comperable weight and a somewhat comperable fiber.

what is the problem, you ask? i am 124 meters of yarn short for the pattern as written (as far as i can tell). i’d like to modify the cardigan to be about 10cm shorter with sleeves about 5cm longer. i also need enough yarn for a gauge swatch that i can wash and etc. i think it is possible that i have enough yarn to do what i want, but i’m really not sure. it could be that i’ll get to the end and be ten yards short, i just don’t know.

so, my question is this: what do i do now?

–i could order an extra skein online. it may end up being a very different dye lot and color from the skeins i have now. if that happened, which part of the cardigan would be best a slightly different color?

–i could call around to the yarn stores in my area and see if they carry my yarn. assuming someone does, i could go there and compare the colors myself. i haven’t ever been to any of these stores before (i know, it’s sad). if none of them have it, then i suppose i would have to revert to the first option.

–i could just jump in and worry about running out if/when the yarn is gone. i like this option because it requires the least amount of work right now, but i’m not a big risk taker. if i run out somewhere towards the end and have the dye lot problem, then things might look very strange.

–there could be a fourth option i haven’t thought of. since i haven’t thought of it, clearly i don’t know what it is. ^^

what do you think i should do? before you answer, have i mentioned recently the part where i’m petrified to call anywhere (like a yarn store) on the phone? that seems to be a part of what’s keeping me from making a decision. it may be that i just need a little push in the right direction. please help before i give myself a headache from thinking so much!

 

7 Responses to “a possible dilemma”

  1. Kelly Says:

    Morning Ren!
    Ok if I were you I’d forge ahead with the knitting. I’d knit the back, then the two sides and then knit the two sleeves at the same time, that way when you run out of yarn, it will be in the sleeves and you could just make them elbow length or somthing. Or you could also do as above and then worry about adding more yarn if or when you run out :)

  2. hakucho Says:

    I think Kelly’s plan is a very good one. Usually I buy an extra skein when I’m dealing with a pattern that calls for a specific yarn and I’m using something a little different. More often than not I usually have extra yarn. I’ll keep my fingers crossed that you have enough to do what you want.

    Good luck…make sure you keep us posted on your progress!!

    happy knitting :)

  3. jase0517 Says:

    Option 2! Even though I don’t like calling people either, but if you have to do it…

  4. Nora Says:

    I’d buy another ball and use it to knit the bands: hem, sleeve, collar and button bands.

    Also, if you’re knitting a shorter version you should be ok with the nominated amount as designers usually over compensate.

    But really, you should just buy another ball.

    GET ON THE PH AND CALL THE YARN STORES!!!

    (I’d do it for you, but I’m in a different time zone!) :)

  5. Violiknit Says:

    I also agree with Kelly; I can’t stand having different dye lots – I’d prefer using a different color altogether…
    p.s. I’ve nominated you as a rockin’ girl blogger!

  6. Kaitlin Says:

    That’s a gorgeous cardigan!

    Hey, thanks for the comment on my latest entry, are you on Craftster?

  7. Jodie Says:

    First, I would get another ball. You’ll be thankful to have the options to do whatever you want to later. Short sleeves, 3/4, whatever, you’ll want the other ball.

    Second, you can eliminate the dyelot problem by mixing it in with another ball. Two rows of one ball, two rows of another dyelot, etc. You may want to mix up the number of rows you do with each so it doesn’t look stripy. This should blend it well enough that it isn’t a huge problem.

    Good luck! Definitely share what you end up doing.


Leave a Reply

