Ren Knits ^^

back in school September 7, 2007

Filed under: catch-up,charity,embroidery,knitting,news — Ren @ 11:36 pm

things have been crazy ever since i got back to school. in the first week back, seemingly everything that could go wrong did. in the last two weeks, classes started up, professors loaded us up with projects and every accounting firm around has wanted to feed us and talk to us and make us want to work for them. it’s all very tiring, really. but enough about why i’ve neglected the blog!

 a few weeks ago, i finished up the bathmat that i’d been working on. using most of my one-pound cotton mill-ends also helped me finally get my whole stash (and needles and supplies) in one rubbermaid tub again, which is very exciting!

bathmat1.jpg

bathmat2.jpg

the bathmat was knit using two strands of dishcloth cotton held together worked on size 10.5 needles from this pattern. i’ve been using it in our dorm bathroom ever since i finished the crochet edging and it works great (and adds much needed color!). very nice and squishy.

 also, i knit my square for the charity blanket swap:

charityblanketswap1.jpg

my square is the blue striped one in the bottom right corner. i used the new vanna’s choice acrylic yarn from lion brand and i liked it pretty well, as far as acrylics go. for more details about my square and the project, visit the blanket swap blog.

i’ve also been doing the embroidery lessons over at crafty daisies. each week you learn some new embroidery stitches and then do a little project. i’m really enjoying it…. gives me a chance to use up some of my embroidery floss, too! i even figured out how to do french knots (finally!)!

embroidery1.jpg

embroidery2.jpg

and that’s about all for now! hope you have a great weekend!

 

10 Responses to “back in school”

  1. BitterSweet Says:

    Oh my, what cute embroidery! I wish I had that sort of talent but I’m simply not patient enough for the craft!

  2. LOve the bath mat nice and enviromental too

    Your embroidery is going so well hope you dont get behind in your studieswhen you get carried away with it.

  3. hakucho Says:

    I LOVE your bathmat…it’s so pretty and I bet it works really well :)

    Great job on the embroidery. It is so useful to know all those stitches and the nice part is that it will carry over to your knitting…you can now do some embellishments on your knitted items!

    Good luck with your schoolwork and get some rest :)

  4. Jason Says:

    Hey, she’s alive! :-p

  5. kim Says:

    i like the cupcake :)

  6. Missy Says:

    I love the bath mat, and the embroidery is too cute. I may have to pick some of my projects back up. Great work!!!

  7. Sophia Says:

    Very cute bathmat, and your embroidery is beautiful! (Your whole stash fits in one rubbermaid tub?!? Wow! You’re so good! I’m not even going to try and figure how many tubs I’d need for my stash…)

  8. Blankie arrived safe and sound. Thanks for hte beautiful yarn, and I love the snail! So cute! And sparkly!

  9. LOVE the bathmat! And your embroidery looks great. It really takes me back…my mom taught me to embroider when I was a kid, and even though I haven’t done it in years, I still remember the variety of stitches I had to learn!

  10. […] that, in the upper right hand corner? do you know what that is, all over my pretty, relatively new, bathmat? yes, that’s right, it’s a BLEACH STAIN. apparently, the cleaning lady came in and […]


Leave a Reply

