Ren Knits ^^

slump September 15, 2007

Filed under: charity,dilemma,embroidery,knitting,news — Ren @ 9:12 pm

i think i may be in a knitting slump. i knit and knit and knit and all i end up with are blanket squares. every time i look through my stash trying to come up with a new project, i end up turning to the super fast and simple 7″ garter square. i look longingly at my sock yarn, but i don’t have the energy to wrestle with my DPNs; i think of a scarf either for myself or the red scarf project, but i don’t want to search for a pattern or mess with cables; i see my felted tweed and imagine the cardigan, but i can’t even consider of testing another swatch. i managed to knit my dad another mason-dixon dishcloth earlier in the week and felt very accomplished. what’s wrong with me?! i certainly don’t mind doing squares (they’re going to the ghana project), but i’m used to having a bit more variety. how can i snap out of it?

 i have been doing some embroidery, though. i was behind on last week’s lesson, but i got through that one and now i’m ready to start the new piece, as soon as i figure out how i want it to look.

embroidery3.jpg

the big thing for this post, though, is that my grandma is finally really having the surgery for her cancer on monday morning. if you haven’t been reading around here for very long, this post and this post have a few more details about her situation. please keep her in your thoughts and prayers this week as she has the surgery and recovers. hopefully the cancer hasn’t spread.

one last (and less important) thing. if you drink coca-cola products and don’t collect the mycokerewards points, i would looove it if you would email me the codes! i got sucked into collecting them and now i need a bunch more to be able to get something even remotely good.

 

9 Responses to “slump”

  1. Kelly Says:

    can’t help you with the coke points but i’ll be praying for your grandma! Maybe you should try ravelry for some inspiration.

  2. Nora Says:

    I’ll be thinking of you and your grandmother. I hope it all goes well. x

    [Thank you for your comforting words regarding Sheeba – I still can’t believe she’s gone.]

  3. Elizabeth Says:

    1. I go through knitting slumps, too. You’ll snap out of it when the right pattern/yarn/whatever hits you. You know, if you’re into knitting squares… A mitered square blanket might be your thang!
    2. I hope all goes well with your grandmother.
    3. I don’t drink Coke, so I can’t help ya there.

  4. hakucho Says:

    Your grandma is in my prayers. Hope all goes well. Your embroidery is beautiful. It’s ok to be in a slump as you call it…you just have too much going on. At least your are knitting. You just need to save up your energy for everything else (school work).

    Take care,

  5. Missy Says:

    I’ll be praying for your grandma. Hope every thing goes well.

    I’m also in a little crafting slump. I’ve kinda switched gears into embroidery for now. I love the little dress thing you made, you work is turning out so much better than mine.

  6. Sophia Says:

    Best wishes for you grandmother. I hope the surgery goes smoothly. Your embroidery is so beautiful; I especially love the dress. There’s nothing wrong with doing squares; I think it’s fun :) You can always connect a few red squares and make yourself a one-of-a-kind sampler scarf.

  7. Thank you so much for your efforts towards The Ghana Project!
    “GrammiePammie”
    http://theghanaproject.wordpress.com

  8. Ren, NOW you’re not in a ‘slump’ anymore…look at all the squares you knitted and sent to me! THOSE certainly count!!! (just tryin’ to help get you out of the slump!)
    Thanks, again, for all you’ve done. I’m working on afghan #26 right now…3 more days until I drop them off, then it’s Nov. 4th when they go to Ghana!!!
    Hugs;
    GrammiePammie


Leave a Reply

