Ren Knits ^^

Sweater Day! March 20, 2008

Filed under: Christmas,knitting,memories,news — Ren @ 10:18 pm

today (thursday) marks what would have been Fred Rogers’ 80th birthday. the non-profit that he founded (www.fci.org) put together “won’t you be my neighbor?” days in conjunction with pittsburgh’s 250th anniverary. i have nothing to do with pittsburgh (i’ve never even been there!), but i stumbled across the sweater day group on ravelry and thought i’d have a little bit of fun with it. ^^

 

i loooved mr. rogers’ neighborhood when i was a kid. even seeing it now that i am older, i am amazed at how calming and kind he was and to this day i remember the episode where he went to the crayon factory. i can’t even remember most of the other series i watched when i was small, so i think that’s saying something.

 

sweaterday1.jpg

 

this is the little mini-sweater i knit for the occasion alongside my very favorite sweater. i love this sweater to pieces, as i have from the very first day we bought it. that year, i had three other sweaters fall apart in the first weeks i owned them due to low-quality workmanship (we were able to return them, luckily). i had seen this sweater in the store window and wanted it, but at $40 it was more than we were willing to pay. after the returning fiasco, mom let me get the sweater, anyway, since we were ready to be done with the hassle. it has sleeves that cover my knuckles, with thumbholes built right in! that’s probably my very favorite part.

 

sweaterday2.jpg

 

the sad thing is that i wore it so much, for so long, that i nearly wore a hole through the left elbow (i’m right-handed, so i was always propping myself up on my left elbow). ever since i noticed how thin it was there, i have been too scared to wear it. i don’t want it to fall apart! *sigh* all good things must come to an end, i suppose.

 

sweater_mini.jpg

 

here is a close-up of the mini-sweater. i want to make the little hanger in the pattern so the sweater can double as my first Christmas knit of the year. yay for a little head-start. ^^ the pattern for the sweater is here and its ravelry page is here. (and thanks, kelly!)

 

ok, i think i can be done with my silly little tribute now! ^^

 

12 Responses to “Sweater Day!”

  1. val Says:

    way too cute :)

  2. Annika Says:

    I love your sweaters! Happy Birthday, Mr. Rogers.

  3. Kelly Says:

    I totally understand your love of your sweater, I HATE HATE HATE when my favourite clothes die. There is never another one like it either :(
    Cute mini sweater :)

  4. Missy Says:

    I love your sweaters. Too cute. I hate it when I wear my clothes out too. I hate shopping for clothes even more. Have a great Easter!

  5. You can fix it! Where its starting to thin from your elbow being propped up you can do a duplicate stitch over it to strengthen it! Take it to a good LYS and work out finding a yarn that matches and have them show you how to do a duplicate stitch. Since it’s all stockinette it will be quite ease. Good Luck!

  6. Denise Says:

    awwww, cute little sweater. We didn’t have Mr. Rogers in the UK when I was growing up, I only really got to know of him when my daughter was born 7 years ago (actually my maiden name is Rodgers, but no relation to Mr R ;-)
    I love your big sweater too, never heard of holes in the cuffs for your thumbs!

  7. Jeanne Says:

    Cute little sweater! Why don’t you design your own sweater just like your favorite?

  8. hakucho Says:

    My mother would extend the life of sweaters and even bathrobes by knitting elbow patches to cover up the worn spots. If I were you and loved your sweater as much as you do I would knit coordinating patches for the elbows!!

    Just a thought….take it or leave it

  9. genuinelye Says:

    That mini-sweater is so. cute.

    Favorite clothes…once they get ruined, they always get ruined in an unfixable way, sigh.

  10. Sophia Says:

    Very cute mini-sweater! I agree that you can reinforce that weak bit by duplicate stitching over it. Perhaps with a sock reinforcing nylon thread?

  11. […] more knitting-related news, i finished off the elbow patches that hakucho suggested way back on sweater day. i used the elbow patches in domiknitrix as a jumping-off point and worked the patches from there. […]

  12. […] posted a BLOG a while back about her sweater that has thumb holes, so I kinda had to steel that too!!! I’m […]


Leave a Reply

