Ren Knits ^^

socks galore! September 19, 2008

Filed under: catch-up,knitting — Ren @ 7:59 pm

… to be honest, i would really rather be showing you my latest sewing project, but I am getting further and further behind on blogging about my knitting. it wouldn’t be fair to my socks not to show them off, too! ^^

.

.

i knit these with the yarn leftover from the cinderella slippers i gave mom for mother’s day (crap! i never blogged about those, did i?). these are knit with moda dea washable wool, so they’re sure to be warm in the winter. the toes are two different colors, but the heels are both aqua. i only had about twelve inches of purple left when i was done, so i’d say i did a good job! : )

.

.

well, these are the cinderella slippers i just mentioned. this pattern is knit on straight needles without seams… you do funny little joins every few rows to connect the sides. however, i am not afraid of circular knitting, so these were really a lot more work than they needed to be. things would have been much simpler using magic loop.

.

.

i just finished up these little ankle socks last week. i really love the yarn; it’s from green prairie fibers (i won it in a contest quite a while back). i only had one skein with about three hundred yards in it, but i made these ankle socks AND another pair of ankle socks that i don’t think i ever blogged about. i am a terrible slacker.

.

.

this is the other pair of ankle socks. i knit this pair up quite a while ago, using this sock pattern. after i made these, i started using that basic formula for all of my socks… ~52 stitches on size 3 needles with short row toes and heels. i really do prefer the short row toes/heels and i mostly wear my socks around the house, so i am a bit less concerned about wear and tear. i actually have these socks on right now. ^^

.

i sure hope i am caught up on my sock knitting now! i am working on another pair of socks, but it might be a little while before they are finished. i’m excited about them, so i hope to blog about them when i do finally finish!

.

on a separate, sadder note, please keep my family in your thoughts and prayers as it looks like my great-aunt is in her very last days. we would all really appreciate it…

 

9 Responses to “socks galore!”

  1. Vicki Says:

    Like purple much? I love all of them! Especially those fun stripey socks.

    I’ll be thinking of you and your family.

  2. Jason Says:

    Cute socks!

    And I’ll keep you and your family in my prayers.

  3. Kelly Says:

    wow sock socks socks. You know I love those stripes, the others are awesome as well. You’re getting to be quite the sock knitting huh!
    Sorry to hear about your great aunt!

  4. Jeanne Says:

    Love the stripe socks! Sending good thoughts to you and your family…

  5. BitterSweet Says:

    The striped knee socks are my favorite pair here, but they’re all lovely!

  6. hakucho Says:

    Sure will keep your Aunt and your family in my prayers…so sorry…

    All of your socks are wonderful, but those striped knee sock are awesome…the two color toes are so cute!

  7. val Says:

    love your socks and prayers for your great aunt ((hugs))

  8. Missy Says:

    I love all of the purple in your socks.

    I am so sorry. I will be keeping you and your family in my thoughts and prayers.

  9. rhoda Says:

    i LOVE your stripey socks! they’re fantastic! i like the ribbed ankle socks too!


Leave a Reply

